Dave Wright and the Midnight Electric

Beginning as a modest 2 piece composed of Dave and Liam in 2010 and originally playing shows under the moniker Once Upon A Time In The West, Dave Wright & The Midnight Electric have taken the stark potential of Once Upon A Time In The West and brought it to its logical widescreen conclusion. Rob Barber has been an amazing find on electric guitar laying down anything from tasty country picking to face melting solos and Tim Cav locks it down low with solid bass lines and commanding prescence. Add to this the power Liam Cameron-Jayes brings night after night with his unique and expressive drumming and powerful backing vocals and you have the beginnings of something pretty special. The songs are narrative driven rock with a country tinge and Dave sings it how he feels it- raw with plenty of power and emotion.
2012 saw the release of the band’s debut EP “Suicide Season” which garned strong support from regional radio. The single Railway Song achieved top ten status 5 weeks running on the AMRAP airit Great Southern Charts.

Late 2013 saw the addition of Daryl Johnson on keyboards and the establishment of the Electric Horns featuring John Bryant on trombone and Peter Newman on trumpet. The new seven piece line up recorded their debut LP “The Lucky Country” which saw release in November 2014. Liam vacated the drummer’s stool at this time and was replaced by ALed Templeton who is taking the band to new heights with his powerful and rock solid drumming. The addition of Anthony Foon as Peter Newman’s replacement on trumpet in 2015 completed the current lineup, who are making a name for themselves as a powerful live act in Melbourne’s thriving live scene.

“Don’t talk to me about heartache, I’ve seen it first hand…”